A-Z Writing

L is for Limo

What to do there: Write about sounds. Wrestle with the challenge of putting sounds into words. And colours, and lights. As you write, turn what you’re writing into a dreamscape. Keep coming back to the anchor phrase: “Last night he dreamt that…” or: “Last night she dreamt that…” Incorporate what you see, but go wild, too. Add impossible feats and mythological creatures, obstacles, add people from your past or your character’s past and future.

Last night she dreamt a white carriage took her for a ride around the city. It was illuminated with purple and blue and everyone was singing songs she couldn’t remember ever learning.

She dreamt that she was being taken to an exciting place but wherever they were going didn’t feel as exciting as being surrounded by the lights and music.

She dreamt that she got to look out over her city and admire the lights; it was showing off for her and her friends. Everything on the horizon was put there for them and only them.

She dreamt that her toes were frozen and sore and that she didn’t feel like she belonged the way everyone else did but the purple lights and the loud music made it easy to ignore what she was trying to tell herself.

She dreamt that the music and lights faded and all she was left with was cold toes and pictures to remind her who she had sat beside in the white carriage that took her away to look over her city.


R is for River

What to do there: Write about movement. Sit and watch the world go by. Notice the differences between land and water and sky. If you don’t have a quay, a jetty will do, or a harbour, or a river bank. Tell the story of a character who transforms when they move from one element to the other and how this transformation impacts on their life, their relationships, and their daily routines. This could be your own story.

 

Normally the river and the sky exist on different levels but if you’re lucky you can experience them living as mirror images of each other. Miming what the other is doing only to be disturbed by a fish or duck that breaks the glass surface in this calm part of the river that runs through my city.

 

This is my happy place. A place that is undisturbed by the noise of cars and people. A place that lets me think and live without the judgement of others turned towards me. It is here that I find a quiet that isn’t able to exist in my busy home.

I’ve never been good at meditating. Having to still my mind isn’t something that I can easily do and it quickly becomes frustrating. But the river welcomes my thoughts. I’m not supposed to “watch them float by as clouds, something you can admire but not touch.” I’m allowed to run with my thoughts. The river wants me to. And when I have given up on something that was persistent in my mind the river is happy to take it away with the current.

Here I can be one with the river; it lets me walk on it’s surface as to not disturb the glass finish that’s letting it match the sky. It helps me see the my world in a new way. And when it’s time for me to head back to the craziness of my life, it always tells a part of my soul that I’m welcome back anytime I need; in fact, it will try and mirror the sky, just like this time, just for me.


C is for Church

What to do there: Find a quiet spot. Places of prayer are not always tranquil. You could go in between prayer times when the church or mosque or temple is emptier and calmer; you’ll also draw less attention to yourself. Write about memories of prayer, your own or a character’s. Invent a reason for them being in the house of prayer at this point in their life. What do they need to resolve? Write about textures, light, the sounds and smells.

How ironic that in a place that is always seen as quiet and peacefull is louder and busier than my home. It has taken me 20 minutes to find a spot where I will not be interrupted or distracted. You see I need to talk to the God of my childhood; the one in charge of my life before it was handed over to whoever has decided all of this was going to be a good idea. Everyone keeps telling me that I just need to recognize that it will help me in the future if I struggle with this now. Yet, that makes no sense to me. Why would you have to try and struggle with something, just to have to deal with the same thing later. What’s the point of dealing with it the first time?

So yes, I need to talk to the God of my childhood. The one who I was told would love me no matter what. Who would protect me from harm and would never give me anything more than I could handle. I want that God. He always listened to me, explained why things needed to be the way they are, told me why my life was going down the ‘path he has planned for me’. This is my last effort. After this I’m done trying to answer life’s questions. I’m simply going to exist, graduate, go to school (again), get a job, have kids, and die. That’s just going to have to be enough.

The lack of noise in here is driving me insane. It’s unsettling. Only people in distress and over the ages of 75 need it to be this quite. My God is too busy for me so I’m going home.

4 thoughts on “A-Z Writing

  1. Tiana,
    I liked how you stated the instructions for the assignment at the beginning of every portion. I thought this was helpful for the reader and would serve as a good clarifier for anyone who isn’t familiar with the assignment. All three of these were written in a slightly different style, which I personally really liked. I think that providing a change of tone each time makes it more engaging for the reader and reveals the different aspects of your writing identity.
    On a bit more of a personal note, I actually really liked the part that you wrote about church. As someone raised in a religious family, it’s always reassuring to hear that some people go through similar experiences and doubts with religion.
    – Genevieve

  2. Tiana, you are a terrific writer and I have seen huge improvements form like months ago! I think this is my favourite piece of your’s! Its simply very captivating and I was compelled to keep reading.. haha i was hardly blinking (you get the picture)..
    Maybe add a few images (or not) it would just make it a bit brighter and not all words and sentences!

    I loveeeee this line, I actually feel this way sometimes as well:
    “After this I’m done trying to answer life’s questions. I’m simply going to exist, graduate, go to school (again), get a job, have kids, and die. That’s just going to have to be enough.”

    Keep creating amazing work!

    Love,
    Shiksha T.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *